We had our first track meet on Thursday! It was lots of fun but so nerve racking also, when you walk up to the blocks and get ready. the wait for the gun to go off seems like it lasts 20 years. I put in a lot of hard work trying to get my form down for the hurdles, the very first time you try to jump one it seems like trying to hump 20 feet tall walls. But after a couple try’s, and a couple scraped knees it seems easy.

Anyways at the track meet it was time for my heat with two other people from west ridge and three from Hill country. I set up my blocks just right, and when the gun with off I shot off like a rocket. I held the lead for the first 105 meters clearing every single hurdle perfectly, until the very last one where I lost my steps and the guy behind me, he just nearly beat me to the line, I was so disappointed, I wanted first so bad, and it was swept away just like that. I did ok in the 100 and 200 meter dash, but I’ll always remember my first 110 hurdles.

I can’t wait for the next meet and with more hard work and dedication I’m sure I’ll get better first place in anything seems like a long way away but to secceed you need to fail sometime.